Looking for a blade

Anyone who knows me, knows that I am a big fan of Dave Canterbury and enjoy bushcraft in general.  The funny thing is, I lack a decent blade that I can have 100% confidence in, when I’m out “in the bush” as my Aussie friends say.  I have a mini Ka-Bar, but it is a fighting knife and can only sorta kinda fill the bushcraft role.  I have a Mora Classic and I love that knife, inexpensive, simple, lightweight.  But she has her shortcomings as well.  I don’t feel very comfortable doing a lot of heavy duty baton work with it.  I mean, it will work in a pinch, but I don’t want to be stuck in the woods with only that as a one tool option.  I have been in the market for a new blade for a while.  I don’t know if I should make my own, buy a custom, or buy a high end production knife.  I want it to be made of carbon steel, have a 4.5″-6″ long blade, minimum thickness of 3/16″, have a lanyard hole, no sharpened swage, and be heat treated to about 58-59 Rockwell.  So far, the Blind Horse Knife Pathfinder is the clear winner, but I just plain don’t have $300 to throw down on it.  I really don’t know much about Beckers, but I have heard some good about them.  I could make my own, and this would be the least expensive option.  What do you, all 5 of you readers, prefer in a bushcraft knife?  Maybe something I haven’t thought of.

Dive! Dive!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Looking for a blade

  1. ChrisJ says:

    Have you considered a less expensive knife? Here’s a review of the Condor “Bushlore” knife and they can be had at knifeworks for $26. See here: http://woodtrekker.blogspot.com/2011/05/condor-bushlore-2011-model-review.html The Condor is what I was going to buy for myself before I decided to just make my own.

    I personally find a drop point of 3.25″ to no more than 4.5″ to be the handiest but I’ll admit that I use my knives more for daily chores and hunting than anything “bushcrafty”. I’ve made one Helle Tollekniv for myself as well as a couple of Ray Mears Woodlore clones for myself and friends. It’s not hard to do for someone with some mechanical aptitude but you won’t save any money compared to the Condor.

Leave a Reply

