STUPID carbine

A while back, I got a wild hair to make something totally crazy.  Imagine, if you will, a Mosin Nagant, with barrel cut to 14.5″ with a permanently affixed muzzle break to bring it just over 16″.  Then I take an standard AK pistol grip and mount it right behind the trigger guard and chop most of the stock off and mount a Krinkov side folder.  A scout scope mount will hold a 1″ Millet red dot as its sighting device and I will shave as much wood as possible to get it close to a 5 or 6 pound rifle.  Finish with an Krylon special camo job and you have, what I call, the Slav Tactical Ultimate Pig Destroyer carbine.  In order to not feel too bad about destroying a Mosin Nagant, I was going to rescue a previous Bubba job or a completely destroyed, bottom-of-the-crate reject.  Then it happened, my gun shop received a shipment of Chinese Type 53 carbines.  The owner said he could give one to me at cost and before you know it, I was ripping apart these vile, disgusting, rust and cosmoline ridden carbines apart to find the “best” one.  They were all bad, even by Type 53 standards.  I found one with a clean-ish bore, decent trigger and serviceable stock.  The S.T.U.P.I.D carbine project is a go.  Here is an extremely poor representation of my project:Type 53

I know a lot of you think I’m crazy, but this sounds really cool to me and I’m not losing any sleep over ruining a Type 53.  Haters, go ahead and hate, but what do I know.  I’ll be with STUPID.

Dive! Dive!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to STUPID carbine

  1. Steve says:

    It’ll be a thing of beauty.

    Or not.

  2. jon spencer says:

    Post a picture of the fireball / muzzle blast when you shoot it.

  3. 3boxesofbs says:

    Because I can is a perfectly valid reason for doing something.
    Add to that “Because I want to try something different” and well Differences make the world go around.
    Not sure if it is a project I would ever take on but I’ll be following along to see how it turns out.

    • Thank you for your kind words, I have all the parts assembled now, just need to get the old girl out of gun jail (CA) and then the fun will start. I am going to publish updates and then at the end, I will do a full write up. I have had a hard time finding info on how people have done similar “bubba” jobs and I think a few people would like to see how something like this is done. Again thanks and I will keep y’all posted on my progress.

Leave a Reply

